An Introduction of Sorts

I find myself writing this with no audience in mind. I’ve been kicking around the idea of starting a crafty/mommy/political/what have you blog for a year or so; there are a few failed attempts to launch scattered around the web that I need to delete to prove it.

So the question is, why bother writing a blog when you’re not writing for an audience?

The answer, dear reader who may or may not exist, is simple:

Because writing is an outlet.

Writing a blog, I can put down in text things that have been worrying me, far better than a conversation over coffee can do. I can list and fret and pour over the tiniest detail, making ever increasingly smaller notes in the margins and then circle back around to see how everything connects.

Life is a puzzle. Just when you think you know where all the pieces go, the picture changes and you’re left with a handful of confusion where once sat what seemed to be perfect clarity. When I write, whether it’s about my daughter’s behavior or antics, my husband’s obsession with Romanticism and its poetry, or the impossibility of simultaneously working a complex cross-stitch pattern and healing a group of video game people at the same time, I’m trying to put those pieces back into some semblance of order before the picture switches out on me again.

Or I could just like to hear myself talk. It’s a tossup, really.

2 thoughts on “An Introduction of Sorts

  1. Oh, for certain. I’ve been writing for myself since first grade, which was… well. It was a while ago. We’ll just leave it as that.

    Writing for public consumption, however? Traceable and attributable to me and me alone? This is a whole new ballgame.

Leave a Reply

