Resolute

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions. Instead, I make lists of goals. Resolutions are too easy to ignore; tiny promises left abandoned as the calendar turns. Goals give you something to work toward; something to look back upon when it’s all through and say “Hell yeah, I did that!”

So my goals, so far, for 2014.

(In no particular order)

  1. Quit smoking. Again. For good. Again. This one should be easy, theoretically. I watched my father die of lung cancer. I don’t want to put Charlotte through that same pain. But there is something so comforting about the feel of a lighter in my hand, the first draw of smoke into my lungs. It’s calming and helps me gather my thoughts better than almost anything else. It’s a crutch, I know, but damned if it isn’t a good one.
  2.  Finish BookThing, v 0.1 Seriously, I can’t even call the first draft the beta release. It will need so, so much editing, and so, so much help.  That said, I do plan on making it as pretty as possible. I have ideas about publishing it, you see. I’d like to get it done – at least to this point – by the beginning of June.
  3.  Find a pool. Get access to said pool.  Swim. Lots. Trickier than it seems, as most pools are in gyms, and they don’t let you wander in off the street and do some laps for free. I swam competitively for 13 years. I miss it like a slow burn in my gut. This will go hand in hand with quitting smoking for the generic “oh better health!” goal everyone has on their lists, but it’s a bit more than that for me.
  4. Finish my damn knitting projects. Among knitters – and crafty folks in general – there’s a term that is whispered in hushed tones.  Startitis.  You have the best of intentions, and you get a project started… and then wander away. It’s not that you don’t want to abandon the project, but this other pattern was so pretty, and you have the perfect yarn, and this would look so good, and there’s a birthday coming up, and before you know it you have 45 different half-created things.
  5. Learn to make proper tea, UK-style. This one is a little bit funny, I admit. I play an MMORPG with a lot of people in the UK and other places in Europe, and since some day I hope meet many of them (a girl can dream, right?) I want to be able to be proper with at least one thing in my life.
  6. Survive. 2013 was a really rough year, and it started three days in. Between health and life and death and finances, I thought we were going down for the count on more than one occasion.  We managed to survive, however. I want 2014 to go a lot more smoothly.

So.  Here we go.

Leave a Reply

