Poem-a-Day – January 2 – Midnight Serenade

I have a gnarly headcold, so this one is a day late.  Oops.

The prompt is “Alone in a hotel room, you hear music through a wall”.

Midnight Serenade

I hear the strings
Plucking away.
I wish they’d go
To bed, today.

I long to sleep,
Perchance to dream,
But that chance is
A distant gleam.

It’s my own fault,
This troubled time;
I thought I could
Afford the dime

To snooze in bliss
And luxury
At a five-star
Hotel, you see.

I did not think
To take a look
At who else might
Have set a book

Of rooms and suites
This night so rare
To dream of all
The things so fair.

And this is how,
I know in awe,
My neighbors are
Metallica.

Leave a Reply

