Friday Fictioneers – The Morning Walk

Between life and ER trips and longer stories, I haven’t done a Friday Fictioneers prompt in a month. A damn shame, really; Rochelle always organizes it so neatly.  Let’s see if I can’t get back on track, yeah?

The Morning Walk

Copyright Erin Leary

Copyright Erin Leary

 

Her feet never touched the ground as we walked together down the lane.

“What’s it like?”

The question blurted out before I could stop it. She looked at me with a smile.

“What, being dead?”

I nodded sheepishly.

Her head tilted to the side as she thought. I could see the cows in the field through her transparent curls.

“Cold.”

I nodded again, in understanding this time.

We kept walking. I had a hundred more things to ask, but I couldn’t find the words. I didn’t realize she’d gone until the sunlight broke through the mist and warmed my cheeks.

 

14 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Morning Walk

  1. Wouldn’t it be awesome to be able to speak to someone who is dead and ask them questions! Good story and I love the feeling of the sunlight breaking through the fog! Really, really good! Nan 🙂

  2. Jessica, Good story. It sounds like the narrator had a personal relationship somehow with the ghost. I’m not sure I’d be quite so calm having that kind of visit. The story left us wondering as well as the narrator. Well written. 🙂 —–Susan

  3. Dear Jessica,

    Trips to the ER? That doesn’t sound good. I hope everything is ok on your end of the world now.

    Soft, dreamlike story. Nice, a ghost story that’s not the least bit spooky. I enjoyed the read.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

Leave a Reply

