Speakeasy #163 – Transitory

Transitory

The way he touched her
Made her feel like she glowed,
Observable from orbit like
An earth-bound star.

The way he sipped his coffee
While staring at her as though
She were a rare treasure,
Plucked from obscurity.

The way the birds sang out,
Metallic, false, hollow,
When he disappeared on occasion
Without so much as a goodbye kiss.

The way he would reappear
As though nothing had happened,
When they both knew
Everything had changed.

The way he planned out
Every last moment of their future
With no attention given
To the tiny, important details.

It was this crash-course,
Two stars tumbling toward a black hole,
That pulled her away, slowly;
Her eyes opened for the first time.

And he didn’t see her leave;
Too lost in his own greatness.
She never looked back,
She just kept walking.

 


The Speakeasy is a weekly flash fiction (and poetry!) prompt hosted by Yeah Write.

I am reminded why I don’t write poetry, and tend to stick to short stories.  Yeesh. The prompts lent themselves so well to the poetic form, however, that this week I had to try something different.

14 thoughts on “Speakeasy #163 – Transitory

  1. Wow. I enjoy your pieces every week. This was wonderful, beautiful and so REAL. My favourite line: “Two stars tumbling toward a black hole.” Nice.

  2. I loved the imagery you created with your poem. You have some brilliant lines like the idea of two starts tumbling toward a black hole and I loved how he was so obsessed with himself he didn’t even notice her leaving. This had great poetic flow. Well done!

  3. I think you did a great job telling a story through a poem. Wonderful use of imagery! And I’m with Silverleaf – I love the line “Two stars tumbling toward a black hole.” 🙂

  4. I love that you wrote a poem with using these prompts. I think that was difficult, and you did a great job. I really like the line, “as though she were a rare treasure, Plucked from obscurity.”

  5. Pingback: winners of the speakeasy at yeah write #163 | the speakeasy at yeah write

Leave a Reply

