Friday Fictioneers – A Moment

Better late than never; here I come with one of the last two Friday Fictioneers stories available for the year.

I’ll get my shit together in 2015. Theoretically.

A Moment

cropped-bugs

image copyright Douglas MacIlroy

“Do you think it hurt?”

My little sister was fascinated by a spiderweb that held the remains of a beetle, and sat poking at it with the tip of a twig. I paused a moment before answering.

“Did what hurt?”

“When it died.”

I looked at the web. “For a moment, maybe. Then it was over.”

“And it stopped hurting?”

All I could do was nod. She smiled at me.

“Okay.”

I held out my hand for her, and her fingers curled around mine. The light was bright and warm.

In the distance, I could hear sirens getting closer.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – A Moment

  1. Dear Jessica,

    And I love an ambiguous comment. What is happening here? Or are they talking near a firehouse? I do like the sense of foreboding and there is something very nice about the atmosphere your words have created, but something is missing. I wish I knew what it was.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  2. The dialogue and story telling are fantastic and really pulled me in. The ending left me confused… I thought they must be thinking of someone they loved, but then it seems more sinister when they here the sirens. Love the story, a bit flummoxed by the ending.

Leave a comment